Belgium Food

3. Brussels (10)

Nasty pork jello-y thing next to Jen's salami sandwich

Nasty pork jello-y thing next to Jen's salami on the widest bread ever!

Belgian food doesn’t seem to be much to write home about.  Yet here I am,

My one egg omelette with chives.

My one egg omelette with chives.

writing about it!  As far as main dishes, Jen and I tried some pork thingy that looked and tasted really bad.  We just tried because the waiter said it was traditional for Brussels.  Jen had a salami sandwich which was just four slices of salami on one slice of bread while I went back to my vegetarian omelette which was so thin I’m convinced it was made with only one egg.  3. Brussels (4)One thing I would go back to Belgium for or just make a pit stop for are the waffles. 3. Brussels I’m not even a pancake/waffle type person.  Not for breakfast anyway.  But Belgians see their waffles more as snacks for anytime of the day.  It was the best waffle I’ve ever had in my life!  It was sweet, tender, with a bite to it and a little syrupy.  We went to another place for waffles 3. Brussels (6)where they were delicate, airy, and expensive and they weren’t as good as the discs of doughy goodness we got from a to-go stall in 3. Bruges Belgium (21)Brussels.  Can’t say enough good things about that waffle.  While in Belgium of course we bought some truffles to sample, and some boxes of chocolate to bring home as a souvenir.  The chocolate and truffles were delicious but 6. Fries & Chocolate! (4)I’m not much of a chocoholic.  I’m satisfied with a Nestle bar from the grocery store.  But still, the chocolate and candy stores sure do display their goods well!

Finally, we had to try some french fries which are supposedly invented in Belgium.

Tartar Fries

Tartar Fries

In Bruges, they’re popular with curry ketchup (ketchup

Mayo Fries

Mayo Fries

with curry powder added in).  I like curry.  I like ketchup.  I like french fries.  I thought they were great.  Jen on the other hand hates curry.  She got hers with tartar sauce.  Jagdeep went with mayonnaise.  They all tasted good but the tartar and mayo soon became too rich and the girls threw half of their size small fries away.  My medium size stood no chance.  However I was unlucky enough to get bottom bunk which in our hostel room, was closest to the garbage can.  I had to smell Jen’s tartar sauce fries all night.

My dad with curry ketchup fries. Oh wait that's me. At least I know my momma didn't have no affair.

My dad with curry ketchup fries. Oh wait that's me! At least I know my momma didn't have no affair.

3 Responses to “Belgium Food”

  1. Rox Says:

    The waffle looks YUMo! Hahahaha. you really do look like yo daddy in that pic!!

  2. Lisa S Says:

    Chris, what is wrong with you? You prefer a Nestle bar from the grocery store over Belgian chocolate? You just don’t have very refined chocolate tasting skills! 😀 I can’t believe your trip is almost over!!

  3. sherri Says:

    Chris you’re so funny! Curry ketchup sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

